P J Lynch



PJ Lynch’s first illustrated book was A Bag of Moonshine by Alan Garner (1986), a collection of folklore tales from England and Wales. For that work he won the Mother Goose Award, given to the “most exciting newcomer to British children’s book illustration”. Since then folklore — traditional stories, legends, and fairy tales — has been a recurring subject of his work.

The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey by Susan Wojciechowski, published by Walker Books in 1995, proved to be very popular, with sales in the United States exceeding one million copies. Lynch’s illustrations were lauded for their “exceptional range of texture and colour”, and earned him both the Kate Greenaway Medal and the Christopher Medal. James Earl Jones recorded a Grammy–nominated reading and a movie based on the book was released in 2007. Jonathan Toomey is Lynch’s work most widely held by WorldCat participating libraries.
He won his second Greenaway Medal two years later for illustrating When Jessie Came Across the Sea by Amy Hest (1997).



A Bag o’ Moonshine Alan Garner (Collins 1986)

Raggy Taggy Toys Joyce Dunbar (Orchard 1988)

Melisande E. Nesbit (Walker 1989)

Oscar Wilde: Stories for Children (Simon & Schuster 1990)

W. B. Yeats: Fairytales of Ireland (Collins 1990)

East o’ The Sun, West o’ The Moon Asbjornsen and Moe (Walker 1991)

The Steadfast Tin Soldier Hans Christian Andersen (Andersen 1993)

The Sainsbury’s Book of Fairy Tales Sarah Hayes (Walker 1993)

The Snow Queen Hans Christian Andersen (Andersen 1993)

Catkin Antonia Barber (Walker 1994)

The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey Susan Wojciechowski (Walker 1995)

The King of Ireland’s Son Brendan Behan (Andersen 1996)

When Jessie Came Across the Sea Amy Hest (Walker 1997)

Grandad’s Prayers of the Earth Douglas Wood (Walker 1999)

The Names Upon The Harp Marie Heaney (Faber 2000)

Ignis Gina Wilson (Walker 2001)

The Bee-man of Orn Frank R Stockton (Walker 2003)

A Christmas Carol Charles Dickens (Walker 2006)

The Gift of the Magi O.Henry (Walker 2008)

Lincoln and his Boys Rosemary Wells (Candlewick 2009)

The Story of Britain Patrick Dillon (Walker 2010)

No One But You Douglas Wood (Walker 2011)

Mysterious Traveller Mal Peet and Elspeth Graham (Walker 2013)

The Boy Who Fell Off the Mayflower PJ Lynch (Candlewick 2015)

Once Upon A Place compiled by Eoin Colfer (Little Island 2015)

© 2022 P J Lynch

Theme by Anders Norén